Board Chair and Vice-Chair Acclaimed at SMCDSB

Board Chair and Vice-Chair Elected at Catholic Board
Posted on 12/03/2020

DECEMBER 3, 2020 - BARRIE, ON: At the Simcoe Muskoka Catholic District School Board's (SMCDSB) initial board meeting on Wednesday, December 2nd, Joe Zerdin and Janice Hutchison were acclaimed as Chair and Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees, respectively. Zerdin represents Ward 1 Barrie (Wards 1, 2, 3, 4, 5) and Hutchison represents Essa, Essa-CFB, Adjala-Tosorontio, Adjala-Tosorontio-CFB and New Tecumseth.

This is Zerdin’s second term as Chair of the Board, having previously served during the 2020 school year, playing an important role in leading the Board through the pandemic shutdown and school reopening plan and the recruitment of a new Director of Education. Prior to becoming a trustee, he volunteered for 14 years as a member of Catholic School Community Councils and has two children, one currently attending a Catholic school in the Board and one who has graduated from the system.

“I want to thank my fellow trustees for their support - it is an honour to serve in this role for another year,” said Joe Zerdin, Board Chair. “There are many new faces on our leadership team and I am excited about the ideas and opportunities that lie ahead for us. I will approach this role with care and dedication so that we can further enhance the high standard of educational and faith-driven programs for our school communities.” 

Hutchison has been a trustee for six years and this is her second term as Vice-Chair, having previously served during the 2019 school year. “I look forward to serving with my fellow trustees to advocate on behalf of our families and promote and protect the value of Catholic education in our province,” said Janice Hutchison, Board Vice-Chair. “We are still very much in uncertain times and now more than ever we must work together for the health, safety and well-being of our students and staff.”


Media Contact: Pauline Stevenson, Communications Manager 705.722.3555 ext., 229 [email protected] 

chair, vice chair and director
(From left) Janice Hutchison, Joe Zerdin, Frances Bagley